A documentary narration of ten years by Katja Baumgarten

Greta is born lifeless. She doesn’t survive. Four years later, her midwife and doctor is on trial for manslaughter. The verdict: A prison sentence, a lifelong ban on practicing and damages to her parents. After release from prison, nothing is like before. [ more ]

Cinematography: Gisela Tuchtenhagen, Katja Baumgarten
Editing: Christian Iseli
Courtroom drawings: Nikolaus Baumgarten:
Germany, 96 minuten, 2023
World premiere: DOK.fest Munich May 5th 2023

Winner best German language documentary Viktor DOK.deutsch


Next Screening: 

FrauenFilmTage Tübingen
Sunday, March 3rd, 2024, 17:00h

Deutsch-Amerikanisches Institut
Karlstraße 3, Tübingen

Followed by a Q&A with Katja Baumgarten, and at
19:00h: Discussion with Tübingen midwives on the topic ‘Home birth and birth center – Quo Vadis?’


Award Winner at the DOK.fest Munich

Award ceremony for the German language VIKTOR, from left to right: Marietta Gottfried (Sky), Katja Baumgarten, Adele Kohout (deputy director DOK.fest). Image: DOK.fest © 2023

From the jury statement:
“From an unpretentious and feminist standpoint, she tells the story of a progressive midwife and doctor whose life becomes a nightmare as a result of the trial. We become witnesses to a tendentious and unprecedented verdict that not only destroys an entire existence but also ‘advances long-standing efforts to limit the work of independent midwives. With GRETAS GEBURT the filmmaker succeeds in making an essential contribution to this highly sensitive topic and impressively demonstrates the social relevance of documentary film work.”

Full laudatio (PDF).
The award winners on the DOK.fest website.

Ina Borrmann in a conversation with Katja Baumgarten I DOK.fest © 2023

A midwife is sentenced

A nightmare has become reality: A little girl is born lifeless. Her midwife and doctor begins resuscitate her. Later, an emergency physician takes over. The little girl doesn’t survive. Her parents name her Greta.

Four years later, her midwife and doctor is on trial. Greta wasn’t in the usual position in her mother’s womb. She was lying the other way around. Why did Greta die? Was it a mistake on the part of her midwife and doctor? Did she deliberately cause Greta’s death? The verdict: “Guilty of manslaughter”. Six years and nine months in prison, professional ban, compensatory damages. Questions remain unanswered.

It is an unprecedented verdict after the unfortunate outcome of a birth. After her release from prison, nothing is the same for the former doctor and midwife, now in her late 60s. She no longer feels like she has a place in the German legal system.

Originally I only wanted to attend the first day of the trial, then come back later for the sentencing. What I experience in the courtroom captivates me: The atmosphere is emotionally charged, and at the same time it involves technical details that only specialists can grasp. Imaginations and interpretations emerge in the reconstruction of Greta’s birth. Social issues are also dealt with.

I have been a midwife myself and I have attended many births. Now I am an editor of a midwifery magazine. Spontaneously I documented the process, at some point I also started filming.

Katja Baumgarten


.

Funded by the nordmedia Film- und Mediengesellschaft
Niedersachsen/Bremen mbH.

Supported by the Filmbüro Bremen and the
Bremen documentary grant award 2014

Produced by
viktoria11.de | Dokumentarfilm
Katja Baumgarten

Eine dokumentarische Erzählung aus zehn Jahren von Katja Baumgarten

Greta wird leblos geboren und stirbt. Ihre Geburtshelferin steht vier Jahre später wegen Totschlags vor Gericht. Das Urteil: Schuldig. Berufsverbot, Gefängnisstrafe, Schadensersatz. Nach der Entlassung aus dem Gefängnis ist nichts mehr wie vorher. [ mehr ]

Kamera: Gisela Tuchtenhagen, Katja Baumgarten; 
Gerichtszeichnungen: Nikolaus Baumgarten; Montage: Christian Iseli;
Deutschland 2023, 96 Minuten.
Uraufführung DOK.fest München 5. Mai 2023.

Preis für den besten deutschsprachigen Dokumentarfilm
Viktor DOK.deutsch


Nächste Vorführung: 

TÜBINGEN

FrauenFilmTage Tübingen
Sonntag, 3. März 2024, 17:00h

Deutsch-Amerikanisches Institut
Karlstraße 3, Tübingen

Anschließend Filmgespräch mit Katja Baumgarten, sowie um 
19:00h: Gesprächsrunde mit Tübinger Hebammen zum Thema ‚Geburtshaus und Hausgeburtshilfe – Quo Vadis?‘

> Weitere Vorführungen und Veranstaltungen


Preisträgerin am DOK.fest München:

Preisverleihung Viktor DOK.deutsch 2023, v.l.n.r: Marietta Gottfried (Sky), Katja Baumgarten, Adele Kohout (stellvertretende Leiterin DOK.fest München). Bild: DOK.fest © 2023

Aus der Jurybegründung:
„Aus einer unprätentiösen, feministisch solidarischen Haltung heraus erzählt Katja Baumgarten die Biografie einer fortschrittlichen Hebamme und Ärztin, deren Leben durch das Gerichtsverfahren zum Albtraum wird. Wir werden Zeug*innen eines tendenziösen und bis dahin einmaligen Urteils, das nicht nur eine ganze Existenz vernichtet, sondern langjährigen Bestrebungen Vorschub leistet, die Arbeit freier Hebammen in die Schranken zu weisen. Mit GRETAS GEBURT gelingt der Filmemacherin ein essentieller Beitrag zu diesem hoch sensiblen Thema, der die gesellschaftliche Relevanz dokumentarischer Filmarbeit eindrucksvoll unter Beweis stellt.“

Vollständige Laudatio als PDF (engl.)
Die Preisträger auf der DOK.fest Webseite

Ina Borrmann im Gespräch mit Katja Baumgarten I DOK.fest © 2023

Eine Geburtshelferin wird verurteilt.

Ein Albtraum ist Wirklichkeit geworden: Ein Mädchen kommt leblos zur Welt. Seine Geburtshelferin beginnt, es wiederzubeleben. Später übernimmt ein Notarzt. Das kleine Mädchen stirbt. Seine Eltern nennen es Greta. 

Vier Jahre später steht seine Geburtshelferin vor Gericht – sie ist Ärztin, gleichzeitig Hebamme. Greta hatte im Bauch ihrer Mutter anders herum gelegen als üblich. Warum war Greta gestorben? Ein Fehler ihrer Geburtshelferin? Hatte sie Gretas Tod vorsätzlich in Kauf genommen? Das Urteil: „Schuldig des Totschlags“. Sechs Jahre und neun Monate Gefängnisstrafe, Berufsverbote, Schadensersatzzahlungen. Fragen bleiben offen. 

Ein bis dahin einmaliges Urteil nach dem unglücklichen Ausgang einer Geburt. Nach ihrer Entlassung aus dem Gefängnis ist nichts mehr wie vorher für die ehemalige Ärztin und Hebamme, inzwischen Ende 60. Sie fühlt sich dem deutschen Rechtssystem nicht mehr zugehörig. 

Eigentlich wollte ich nur zum ersten Verhandlungstag kommen, dann wieder zur Urteilsverkündung. Was ich im Gerichtssaal erlebe, zieht mich in den Bann: Die Stimmung ist emotional aufgeladen, gleichzeitig geht es um fachliche Details, die nur Spezialisten erfassen. Vorstellungen und Deutungen entstehen in der Rekonstruktion von Gretas Geburt. Auch gesellschaftliche Fragen werden verhandelt. 

Ich selbst habe als Hebamme viele Geburten betreut, heute Redakteurin einer Hebammenfachzeitschrift. Spontan dokumentiere ich den Prozess, irgendwann auch Dreharbeiten.

Katja Baumgarten


.

Gefördert mit Mitteln der nordmedia Film- und Mediengesellschaft
Niedersachsen/Bremen mbH.

Gefördert vom Filmbüro Bremen.
Bremer Dokumentarfilm Förderpreis 2014

Eine Produktion von
viktoria11.de | Dokumentarfilm
Katja Baumgarten